1. Home
  2.  » Board Certification

Texas Family Law Board Certification

Created in 1974 by the Supreme Court of Texas, the Texas Board of Legal Specialization (TBLS) exists to help consumers easily identify attorneys who have taken the additional steps necessary to become specialists in different practice areas. A lawyer must apply for and pass an exam to be able to say he or she is Board Certified.

“Board Certification is a mark of excellence and a distinguishing accomplishment.” – The Texas Board of Legal Specialization

There are 21 different exams that cover family law and a wide range of practice areas. These exams are designed to gauge an attorney’s understanding of the intricacies of a particular practice area and depth of knowledge of Texas law. Only after passing the exam, can a lawyer call himself or herself a “specialist” in a practice area.

“Board Certification is not a one-time event. It also requires annual professional refreshment through TBLS approved, continuing legal education course work to stay abreast of current trends in law.” The Texas Board of Legal Specialization

Of the 70,000 attorneys licensed to practice in Texas, only 10 percent are board certified in their chosen field of practice. Not every attorney chooses to take on the additional examinations and continuing education required to remain a specialist. Individuals who are searching for guidance from a legal professional should remain aware of the additional commitment that is required to become Board Certified.

Texas Family Law Board Certification

The established law firm of Lisa E. McKnight, P.C., represents individuals throughout Greater Dallas, Texas, and the surrounding communities in Dallas, Collin, Denton and Rockwall counties. We offer a 30-minute phone consultation for $75 in which we can assess the facts of your case, provide insights on a likely outcome and recommend the best steps to take. Contact us to schedule a call or to receive more information.

Se habla español